homeaboutvarioustop destinationseventsdead or alive, famous norwegianstream, feed


circle.kdominos pizzamcdonaldspeppes pizza

 Svein Dag Hauge
 Per Hillestad
 Rolf Graf
 Per Kolstad
 Associated members
 Stein Austrud
 Kåre Kolve
 Eythor Gunnarsson
 Past members
 Kjell Hestetun
 Stein Eriksen
 Egil Eldøen
 Sigurd Køhn
 Marius Müller
 Geir Langslet
 Guest vocalists
 Sidsel Endresen
 Randy Crawford

Lava (established 1977) in Årdal is a Norwegian jazz-rock band, known from a series of recordings in the 1980s (Polydor Records).

The initiators Per Hillestad (drums), Svein Dag Hauge (guitar) were joined by Kjell Hestetun (bass) and Stein Eriksen (keyboards) and released the jazz funk influenced album Lava (1980), with contributions from Geir Langslet (keyboards) and Olav Stedje (vocals).

When Hestetun and Eriksen left the band, the quartet Hauge, Hillestad and Langslet and bassist Rolf Graf continued releasing the album Cruisin (1981), with contributions by Per Kolstad (piano), Sigurd Køhn (saxophone) and Marius Müller (guitar), and the track "Take Your Time" became Norway and Europe hit.

Their third album was Prime Time (1982) with Egil Eldøen as new vocalist accompanied by Sidsel Endresen on one track. In addition to the regular lineup, Per Kolstad and Sigurd Køhn contributed on this album. It was followed by a tour with Randy Crawford (1983), also contributing on the album Fire (1984). This is Lavas best-selling albums and it was awarded Spellemannsprisen (1984) in the class Pop.

Later, the group released Prime Cuts (1985), Rhythm of Love (1990) and The Very Best of Lava (1996). On the next two albums Polarity (2003) and Alibi (2005), Geir Langslet was substituted by Stein Austrud (keyboards) Kåre Kolve contributed as saxophonist. The last album Symphonic Journey (2009) was recorded live with Kringkastingsorkestret at Rockefeller. Lava also collaborated with guest artists like Randy Crawford.


Svein Dag Hauge - guitar (1977-)
Per Hillestad - drums & percussion (1977-)
Rolf Graf - bass (1980-)
Per Kolstad - piano (1982-1989, 2003-)
Egil Eldøen - vocals (1982-)

 more video Oslo Accommodation, Businesses and more pictures from Oslo  Oslo