HomeAbout NorwayAdventuresTop destinationsEventsFamous Norwegians Forum




Menu

















Mona Moe ProductionSalMarroyal salmonfriele coffe

 Damstredet
 Telthusbakken

Damstredet is a small and narrow street, located in the borough of St. Hanshaugen. Damstredet has managed to survive intact as a charming part of town, with well-preserved and inhabited wooden houses, now one of the few streets that retains the then small town character of Oslo in a genuine manner.

Damstredet was mostly built from 1810 to 1860, as part of the expansion of Oslo that begun at this time. The first house, Solberg, was erected in 1756 by sculptor Ole Meyer. His nephew, sculptor Andreas Hansen Meyer, took over in 1767, while his son Ole, also sculptor, erected another building in 1838. His friend, author and poet Henrik Wergeland, then newly wed, moved in and spent two of his most productive years here, until moving to "Grotten" in 1841. Solberg was later home of architect Heinrich Ernst Schirmer, and General and Minister of Defence (1868–1872) Nils Christian Irgens.

Telthusbakken is a narrow street located in the borough of St. Hanshaugen. Almost all buildings along the street are old and traditional wooden houses, many from the period around 1815 when deeds were issued for the properties.

During the 16th century, the street which is now Telthusbakken was part of the main road passing the Old Aker Church, from east to west of Oslo and further across to the west coast. Sitting on top of the Telthusbakken hill, Old Aker Church was built around 1080 and is the oldest building still in use in Oslo. The name Telthusbakken is from a large canvas house that existed around 1700.


 Oslo
 more video Oslo Accommodation, Businesses and more pictures from Oslo  Oslo