homeaboutvarioustop destinationseventsdead or alive, famous norwegianstream, feed


The township of Hurum and Røyken are the coastal district in the county of Buskerud. The long coastline stretches from Slemmestad by Oslofjorden, round the Hurum peninsula to Lahell by Drammensfjorden.

 Spikkestad Station  
Spikkestadbanen is a 14 kilometre long railway line between Asker and Spikkestad. It was originally part of Drammenbanen between Oslo and Drammen which was built in 1872.

In 1973 a new tunnel, Lieråsen Tunnel was built to shorten Drammensbanen, and much of the old line was closed down. The last train on the section between Spikkestad and Drammen ran June 2, 1973.

However, the stretch between Asker and Spikkestad was kept as a branch line for local commuter traffic. The line was called Spikkestadlinjen until 2008.